Completion List 2019: Super Metroid #8

H2x1_SNES_SuperMetroid_image1600w

Try as I might, I can’t play all the games and sometimes a massive gaming series passes me by; as was the case with Metroid. I think I did play a little bit of the gamecube version actually, but whatever.

So, to the right this wrong, I decided to get some proper use out of the SNES and give Super Metroid a go. It’s really rather good… when it’s not frustrating the shit out of me. None of the boss fights remotely phased me, instead I’d find myself getting stuck for 20 minutes trying to wall jump into a secret area. Level design is awesome, but often brutal, with disappearing platforms and parts of the game that require a series of perfect timings; it often had me swearing in both frustration and jubilation.

The level(s) are very maze-like which encourages exploration, finding secret areas and discovering all the power ups. You’ll often need to revisit areas as suit upgrades grant you access to previously inaccessible places.

I enjoyed it enough that I’ve ordered Samus Returns on the 3DS.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. The only time I have played “Super Metroid” was on the Wii. Even on this system, some levels were quite difficult to go through. However, I liked the exploration parts of the video game.

    Reply

Leave a comment